About Mike

I think my twitter bio sums it up pretty well: Father. OHL champ. CIS champ. Ex-NHL player. Ex-convict. Current SMU student and pro hockey player. Proud ambassador of Be The Game and Gongshow. Go Cardinals!

I grew up in dysfunctional households throughout Southern Ontario that eventually lead to the reason of me changing my middle and last names later on in my life. I started playing hockey for the Chinguacousy Blues at the age of 7. I went on to play for the Toronto Red Wings and Toronto Young Nationals, where I won an All-Ontario Bantam Championship. I moved out of my home at an early age because I was not happy with my living conditions. At the age of 16, I was drafted in the 5th round by the Sarnia Sting of the Ontario Hockey League (OHL). I played 3 seasons in the OHL for Sarnia, Toronto St. Michael's Majors and the Barrie Colts. I was captain at the age of 17 for Toronto and assistant captain of the 2000 Barrie Colts team that won the OHL Championship and lost in the finals of the Memorial Cup to the Rimouski Oceanic. In the 2000 National Hockey League (NHL) draft, I was selected in the 5th round by the New Jersey Devils. I played my first professional season for New Jersey's minor league affiliate - the Albany River Rats - in the American Hockey League (AHL). Later that season, I was called up to New Jersey and played in my first career NHL game against the Carolina Hurricanes. My second season was cut extremely short as I incurred an oblique injury during training camp that kept me out for the entire season. My third season started in New Jersey but ended in me living in California waiting to be traded. Finally, in the summer of 2003, I was traded to the St. Louis Blues. I spent my first full season in the NHL in St. Louis. That was my last season as well.

On April 16, 2004, I was arrested and sentenced to 90 months in prison. I spent 59 months of my federal sentence in the United States throughout several states. However, most of my time was spent in Minnesota and New Jersey. The last 6 months of my sentence was spent in Kingston, Ontario. I was granted full parole on September 11, 2009 and was released from prison on September 28, 2009 after serving more than 65 months behind bars. I completed my parole on January 21, 2011 and was thus considered a free man for the first time in more than six-and-a-half years. Upon my release from prison I moved out of Ontario and headed out East to Nova Scotia.

I enrolled at Saint Mary's University in January of 2010. I joined the men's hockey team shortly after. That season, we went on to beat Moncton, Acadia, and St. FX to win the Atlantic University Sport (AUS) Championship. Moreover, we travelled to Thunder Bay, Ontario for the Canadian Interuniversity Sport (CIS) Championships and beat McGill, Manitoba, and the University of Alberta in the finals to win the first men's hockey National Championship in school history. Academically, that year, I was named as an Academic All-Canadian for achieving a grade point average (GPA) of over 3.7 for my first school year. In my second year at Saint Mary's, I was once again named an Academic All-Canadian for my outstanding grades while playing a varsity sport. At the end of my second season with the Huskies, I decided to head overseas and begin my professional career for the second time.

I signed a contract with IFK Ore - a team in the Swedish 1st division. Upon my arrival, the team made me captain and had aspirations of a playoff appearance. I played the first couple of months there until I was picked up by a team in a different league. Orli Znojmo was a Czech Republic based team playing in the top Austrian league (Erste Bank Eishockey Liga - EBEL). Upon my arrival, we were in tenth place of eleven teams. We finished the season in seventh place and lost in the first round of the playoffs. Throughout my first European hockey season, I was also taking correspondence courses from Saint Mary's that were counting towards my double major degree in Psychology and Criminology.

I am not sure how much hockey I have left in me, but I want to play as long as I can. My dream of playing back in the NHL will never die. However, I need some help from outside sources in order for that to happen again. Until then, I will train hard and play to the best of my abilities in Europe or any other league that deems me skilled enough to play. I plan to graduate in a couple of years with a double major undergraduate degree from Saint Mary's and then go on to achieve a Master's program in Psychology. Most importantly, I am going to be a father this year. My son - Tanner - will be born in August and I am counting down the day until he arrives. I have waited for this moment since I realized how the wrongs of my childhood affected me. I am going to do my best to right all of those wrongs for Tanner and see that he gets brought up the way that I would have liked to. I will start off by instilling in him that he will NOT be a Toronto Maple Leafs fan, but he will be a diehard St. Louis Cardinals fan just like his daddy.

Peace,

Dants